h1

When the Mood Strikes…

April 28, 2008

I’ve recently noticed that my DVD viewing habits tend to follow a specific pattern.  That’s OK, I guess.  Every day of the week seems to have a certain vibe, although the cast of SEINFELD may disagree.  Let me take you through a typical week of movie watching for me:

Sunday nights, I tend to watch something that will get my mind off of the fact that Monday is on the horizon.  It can be something totally escapist, with a lot of flash, and special effects.  Sometimes it’ll be a modern classic that by coincidence I watch on Sundays more than any other day of the week.

Monday nights, I tend to lean towards action or action comedies.  I guess that helps me wear off some of the left-over adrenaline I might have generated during the day.  Tonight, I may just watch THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW, or maybe LADDER 49.

Tuesdays (when HELL’S KITCHEN isn’t airing, that is) are obviously for new releases.  Lately, though, I haven’t seen any new releases that catch my eye.  Fine with me, my money is better spent on other necessities.  But when I DO spot a new release that I want in my collection (which constantly threatens to overtake my living room), it’s a real thrill.  It also helps me prepare for the middle of the week when the next two days seem to blur together.

So I save those days for movies in my collection that I haven’t watched in a while, just to see if I still enjoy them.  I’m happy to say that 99% of the time, I remember why I enjoy that particular title.  Personally, I think it’s great when I rediscover a movie, or notice things about it that I hadn’t before.

Fridays and Saturdays are my nights at the movies, depending on my family’s social schedule-they ALWAYS come first.  On a REALLY good week, there will be two movies playing that I want to see, and with this week being the unofficial start of the summer movie season, my blog may start to get REALLY active.

Now, it’s YOUR turn!  Do you have certain types of movies that you watch on certain nights?  Or, do you save your movie watching for special occasions?  Feel free to post your thoughts here!

Leave a Reply

