h1

MEMO TO WARNER BROTHERS: 3 Discs does NOT make it better!

July 16, 2008

Just when I thought I was going to be able to let go of my utter dislike of SPEED RACER, the Internet Movie Database reports today that on September 16, SPEED RACER will be out in a special 3 disc set of this train wreck.  There’ll be the movie, with extras including how they did the races without a real car anywhere.  Personally, I’d like an extra in which they explain how they wrote a movie without a real plot.  The second disc will be a demo of the video game, and the third will be a digital download copy, so you can be nauseated anywhere.

I guess that the folks at Warner Brothers are hoping that this movie will play better at home.  I suppose it will, if I turn the sound off, and completely dim the picture.  I feel like the execs at Warner Brothers are just throwing good money after bad.  People, the movie TANKED at the box office, and this was BEFORE the economy started to get really bad.  So, I ask you in the name of all reasonableness, why put out a special edition of a movie that FAILED?  I don’t hear people crying out for a special 3 disc edition of GIGLI.  I realize there is a special edition of SHOWGIRLS, but that I understand as SHOWGIRLS has become something of a cult favorite.  And when was the last time you heard this in a conversation:  “Wouldn’t it be great if THE FLINTSTONES IN VIVA ROCK VEGAS was a three disc set.”?

I’m sure that some people who initially GOT this movie will want to own the discs that are coming out.  It’s your money, and I have no right to tell you how to spend it, but let me offer this advice to the powers that be at Warner Brothers:  Wouldn’t the money your spending on this special edition of SPEED RACER on DVD be BETTER spent on releasing some of the BETTER titles that might be still sitting in your vaults?  I don’t have any specific titles in mind at the moment, but there must be a classic in there somewhere that HASN’T seen the light of day on DVD.

Let me close this column with a special thank you.  Over the past week, the total number of visits to my blog went over 500, with today’s total reaching 520.  I just wanted to say thank you to my faithful readers, and those of you who happened on it by chance.  I honestly didn’t expect to see such interest in yet another blog about one person’s opinions about the movies.  I thank you all, and I hope you will continue to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

