h1

Return of NOW I Can Name That Tune

January 17, 2015

Here is a riddle for you: What does a well-known SESAME STREET film with Dennis Allen have in common with an opening scene of WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT,  the credit roll of AMAZON WOMEN ON THE MOON, and the very first Stretch Armstrong commercial from Kenner? They all feature a very familiar piece if Spike Jones influenced music.  U can see my faithful readers going right for the Dennis Allen clip for a reminder.

Well, thanks to a comment someone made on the credits roll clip of AMAZON, we can now lay to rest another musical mystery of yesteryear. That zany, wacked out piece of musical mayhem is called “Wild Clown”. The man behind it is Henrik Nielsen. Yes, the same Henrik Nielsen that gave us us the Joker Jackpot win cue which is called MARDI GRAS, and was also used on SESAME STREET’S 10 CLOWNS film. Now, when I first made inquiries about WILD CLOWN, the only lead I got was that Capitol Media Music originally owned it. My guess is Henrik’s compositions all went to Ole Georg Music, as I have seen his name associated with Ole Georg’s list of composers and credits. The mire I listen to WILD CLOWN, the more I can hear the connective tissue between it and MARDI GRAS. The instruments sound very similar, as do the comic sound effects that punctuate both pieces. I guess I always knew WILD CLOWN, was Henrik Nielsen, now I know for sure. I don’t think I’ll get much of an argument from you all when I say that Henrik managed to get a lot of mileage out of WILD CLOWN. Between Henrik Nielsen, David Lindup, and Joe Raposo I learned a lot about the far-reaching influence Spike Jones had on later generations of composers. Quite a fun-filled history lesson, if I SAY, I SAY, I SAY (wink)

Leave a Reply

